Darren Rowse, ProBlogger, got a personal trainer for Christmas…

Darren Rowse writes the incredibly helpful Problogger, with 38,066 RSS readers at the moment. Glad I am one. From our email interview tonight…

Darren, What are you doing about your health, weight or fitness?

“I have a personal trainer. Since having him I’m eating healthier and exercising 4 or so times a week both with him and at home alone.”

What got you started doing it?

“Two things:

“Firstly I have an 18 month old son and another child ‘on the way’. The faster my Son got the more I realized how out of shape I was getting. For me it was a gradual process of slipping into poor eating habits and less and less exercise.

“Secondly the heart attack and passing of blogger Marc Orchant shook me up. While I didn’t know him personally (I think we commented on each other’s blogs 2-3 times) there was something about his situation that was familiar and I guess I was challenged to be more proactive about my own fitness and health. Om Malik’s more recent heart attack was a big confirmation to me that I’d done the right thing.

“It was always one of those things that was a ‘one day I’ll do something about it’ – but that day never came.

“I decided that 2008 had to be the year for change and asked my wife for a personal trainer for Christmas. I started in December 07 and it’s now been 4-5 weeks. I’m still early into it but I am already feeling better, have lost a few kilograms (I’m already down 1 size around the waist) and am feeling more energetic and productive.

What keeps you doing it?

“As I say – it’s early days for me and the jury is still out as to whether I’ll be able to keep it up. I am hoping however to make this a new lifestyle rather than a chore that I do. For me everytime that I look at my Son is part of my motivation. I want to see him grow up and reach his potential – as a result I have a responsibility to him and the rest of my family to do this.”

One response to “Darren Rowse, ProBlogger, got a personal trainer for Christmas…

  1. Pingback: » Blogger Proof Workout

Leave a Reply

